Thursday, May 22, 2014

Inagural College Football Championship

The College Football Championship Game is the official name for the new college football championship game of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). The renaming of the national championship game is part of the establishment of the College Football Playoff that will begin at the end of the 2014 college football season. Under the prior Bowl Championship Series format, the game was known as the BCS National Championship Game. Under the older Bowl Alliance and Bowl Coalition systems, the championship game simply used the name of the bowl game in which it was played. The participants in the title game will be the winners of two semifinal games between the nation's top four teams, as chosen by the College Football Playoff selection committee. This will mark the first time that the top-level NCAA football championship has been determined by a bracket competition.
The location of each year's championship game will be determined by the playoff group's leaders, which considers bids to host the event from various cities and then makes a final selection, in a similar fashion to the Super Bowl or the Final Four. When announcing it was soliciting bids for the 2016 and 2017 title games, playoff organizers noted that the bids must propose host stadiums with a capacity of at least 65,000 spectators. Leaders say the championship game will be held in a different city each year, and cities cannot host both a semifinal game and the title game in the same year. AT&T Stadium, an NFL stadium in Arlington, Texas, was chosen to host the first game on January 12, 2015.
The winner of the game will be awarded a new championship trophy instead of the "crystal football", which has been given by the American Football Coaches Association since 1986; officials wanted a new trophy that was unconnected with the previous BCS championship system. The new College Football Playoff National Championship Trophy will be sponsored by Dr Pepper, which paid an estimated $35 million for the sponsorship rights through 2020.
The game will be broadcast on ESPN through 2026.

No comments:

Post a Comment